From Chile I decided to continue my trip to Peru, because I had time and I din´t want to go back to Cochabamba. The bordercrossing was easy and I got a stamp for 180 days to my passport. Tacna is the first city on the Peruvian side after the border. There I had to wait for the bus to Arequipa almost two hours and be careful with the time, because it is two hours less in Peru. The journey to Arequipa was scenic, but slow. The bus arrived two and half hours late. Arequipa is famous of it´s fake taxis driven by criminals so I was a little bit nervous about choosing a right taxi. Luckily two students from Santiago wanted to share a taxi with me. We ended up safely to a basic, but good hostel in the rain. In this time of the year it is raining every day in this area and the sky is cloudy all the time.

The next day I spent visiting different travelagencies asking about the excursions to the canyon of Colga (the second deepest in the world). I also wanted to do rafting, but it wasn´t possible because of the rain. Finally I found the offer that satisfied me. Arequipa is a historical town between the the snowpeaked volcanos with lot of beautiful churches and other buildings. It is also very popular among tourists at any time of the year. I really enjoyed visting the big monastery of Santa Catalina which is like a small city inside the city. After doingsome sightseeing it was time to start the trip to Colga. 

I did the trekking with two Peruvian girls from Lima and the local guide. First we decended to the canyon with sunshine, but it started to rain in the afternoon as we walked through the local villages. The night we spent at the bottom of the canyon in the guesthouse with no electricity. The next morning we did the quite tough climb of 1000m. Everywhere in Colga the scenery was amazing and decorated by snowpeaked mountains above the clouds. After the trek I took the bus from the nearest town called Chivanay  to Puno (by the Titicaca lake).